Skip to content

before and after – the living room

September 17, 2011

It has been a while since my last post. Now that I am back to work, teaching and coaching, things have come to a bit of a halt on the house project front. That being said, I thought that I would come back with a real whiz bang zinger! I hope you like it!

The first is an image of our living room before we actually lived in the house. The second is what it looks like now. We have made a few minor changes [like painting the whole interior of the house!] and once again painting over the blood, sweat and tears of the previous owners’ painstaking restorations [the fireplace]. I guess you could say that their version had a cozy old world charm and I like to think that we have decluttered, recluttered and modernized the space ever so slightly!
living room beforeliving room after
I really love the mid-century sculpture that we inherited from my A1[and only]’s Oma as well as the fuzzy little air plant.  I can’t wrap my head around how that thing lives but I love it sooo much because it is the only plant in the house that I never have to water or maintain in any way and somehow it still survives.  Bless ye little green mossy thing!

One thing that I still can’t make up my mind on is whether this room in its present version needs a rug or not.  I think that it would make the space feel smaller but, on the other hand, it would add another level of comfort and warmth. What do you think?
bay window and books
mid century sculpture

air plantneinkamper sofa
This room is verging on cat-like status; it has had a number of lives! Here are a couple of its other incarnations through the years.
living room step 2living room step 3

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

