Skip to content

all in a days work

August 20, 2011

front porch postspaint prep
front porch railing
Today I stripped down the old railing with a little help from my new sawzall [tool drool].  I have to say I am becoming quite the Milwaukee tool fan!

We picked up a bunch of 1×3’s from the lumber yard and I painted them before installing just to be sure that all sides were well protected.

I still have a lot of work to do to finish it off but I am feeling pretty happy with my bad self at the moment and I am off to reward myself with a little liquid encouragement!  The rest can wait until tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kirk permalink
    August 20, 2011 11:38 pm

    The porch and railing look great Shannon and I really like the look of your front door, particularly the trim details around the glass and the hardware. I assume it is as old as the house? We are looking at replacing both the front and back doors and jambs due to wear and tear and the impossibility of stopping air flow. My only reservation is our front door, original to the house – about 110 years old. We looking at removing the stained glass – similar to the size of the glass in your door – and having it reinstalled in a new door, either steel or fibreglass.

Leave a Reply

